September 17, 2009

What Works – Variety Task List

Posted in ADHD, Organization, Posts by Renee, Tools at 3:30 am by bloggingawayadhd

I used to put only my most major, most important tasks on my to-do list, things that may take more than a day to accomplish and that I would really set my mind on. The problem with that was, when I didn’t feel like working on a major task, I didn’t get anything done at all. I would sit there trying to hype myself up to do the big tasks.  Then, the little tasks would pile up until I was way behind on everything.

So, I started putting a variety of things on my to-do list, some things that take hours or days, some things that can be done in a half hour or so, and even short 10-minute tasks. Now, there’s always something I can convince myself to do, so if I’m not in the mood to work on a big task now, I can get the little things done so they’re out of the way when I am in the mood to work on the big task (or when the deadline on the big task is looming and I’ve procrastinated it so long, I must work on it at the expense of everything else!).

It also feels good and is motivating to check stuff off the list, even if it’s just something little!

On a related note, I just bought this shirt: http://tr.im/yW1c !

9 Comments »

  1. bloggingawayadhd said,

    By the way, if you have any “What Works” to contribute, please let me know and I could write it up or you could guest-post!

  2. ingri81 said,

    I just wanted to ask you if you’ve noticed any results from the fish oil yet? I just ordered some the other day and I’m waiting for it to be delivered. I have ADD(not ADHD) and getting constantly sidetracked and forgetting why I entered a room is just driving me nuts. I’ve read that the omega-3 in the fish oil is supposed to help, so I guess I’ll find out. How has it been working for you so far?

  3. bloggingawayadhd said,

    Honestly, I’ve never taken it consistently enough to notice a difference – sorry I can’t be of more help! I still take it as often as I remember (which isn’t often) because there are many health benefits.

    Thanks for the reminder, though – I need to take it more often! If I ever do notice an impact on my ADHD I will write about it :)

  4. Ellen said,

    This is really interesting. I just started doing an omnipresent to-do list where I put all sorts of things on it. It seems to be working out fairly well. It has also helped me become more conscious of when I start “floating” too much – zoning out, losing focus. Before when that happened, I would just feel bad about myself, which would result in more escapist impulses, and more “floating.” Now when I sense that bad “I’m floating!” feeling, I respond by picking something from my list and doing it. Just keeping the bad feelings at bay is a help – never mind the ancillary benefits of getting little (and sometimes big) things done. Glad to hear it seems to be working for you too.

    (I’m not against medication, I just have had difficulty in finding a decent doctor or therapist.)

  5. ScatterShell said,

    This post is wonderful (oh, hi, I just found your blog) and so is the comment above by Ellen. I recently had a similar epiphany as the OP to my to-do lists and am trying to combine that with not minding if I do not complete my entire list. Right now, some things are better than no things.

    The comment by Ellen is just wonderful for the idea of dealing with that floaty feeling. I’m going to try that too.

    Can’t believe it took me this long to find individual ADHD blogs. :) Have bookmarked yours! Will completely understand if you can’t wade through the rambling wordiness of mine, I type really fast and aimlessly…

  6. bloggingawayadhd said,

    I’m glad you all have gotten some benefit from my (unfortunately rarely-updated) blog… I find I often come back and see things (like this to-do list idea) that I should have kept up but have let drop since I haven’t been able to make it into a habit yet.

    Thanks for the comments, which pop up in my email inbox and keep me coming back here! Maybe I need to start posting more often again….

    Just wanted to let you know it makes me happy when even one person can get a new idea to help improve their lives from something I posted!

    Renee

  7. Aury said,

    I just started to do this! Its working really well! Thank you so much!

  8. […] or not, Renee’s archived posts, like the one here https://kickmyadd.wordpress.com/2009/09/17/what-works-variety-task-list/ are well worth the read and – BONUS – she writes about women-specific issues, a rarity […]

  9. John said,

    Ok, so you obviously have ADHD according to the dates on your blog. I was able to skim through some of your blog and had a couple of questions.

    Did you ever incorporate the supplements? If yes, how much of a difference did you notice?

    Since 2007, what medications, supplements, meditation etc…. have you consistently used? Do you feel the same as you did in 2007 or do you feel like your ADHD is more controllable?

    Thanks for your blog, at least the few sentences I was able to skim through some of the dates I read. You know how that works! : )


Leave a Reply

